Thursday, February 28, 2008

Mavs Claim Silver Sow

Maverick seniors Bill Bagron (left), Eric Aarnio (center) and Mick Lawrence (right) reclaimed the Spirit of the Mavericks trophy (nicknamed the "Silver Sow") from the Minnesota State-Mankato Mavericks after a six-year drought.

The trophy is awarded to the team that scores the most goals in the two-game series. The UNO Mavericks claimed the trophy by winning 6-3 in Omaha and 4-2 in Mankato.

The trophy was presented by me, representing the UNO Blue Line Club (neither UNO BLC president Pat Lemmers nor vice-president Colleen Barstow were able to make the Feb. 26 game in Mankato). More than 60 UNO fans witnessed the on-ice presentation.

No comments: